[Home]

05.09.23 - Technology is a PRISON

Oh hey, I've been gone again! I do have actual big ol reasons though, including (but not limited to):

  • Moved up to college to start a doctorate
  • Started said doctorate
  • Laptop had a major harddrive failure and had to get a new one (RIFP Lenny the Lenovo JR, you will be sorely missed)

In general, as life goes, it's been a lot of ups and downs. I FINALLY got my license after the THIRD try because driving is HARD!!! I've also been doing my best to adjust to my program. Some of it feels pretty straightforward so far, while other parts make me feel like I'm drowning in all the content. I find solace in the fact that I'm not alone in it, though. I'm making friends in the program - we're gonna form a study group! And hang out! Over drinks! Like real adult-type people!

Currently getting used to the new computer. It's not exactly what I wanted to upgrade to when I planned on upgrading - which was gonna be another year or so out - but oh well. Did all of my usual setup junk (Firefox/Malwarebytes/Ublock Origin/etc.) and grappling with the better RAM but worse onboard memory. Note to self: get a good external hard drive. Also not a HUGE fan of the display. Colors are super washed out and I'm not really sure what I'm gonna do about my digital art with that. Maybe an external monitor? I have one of those lying around somewhere at home...

Anyway. We out here. Still reeling from the double-whammy loss of Jimmy Buffett AND Steve Harwell (Smash Mouth). The years really don't stop comin'.

Keep walkin' on the sun.